Whangarei’s most promising up and coming circuit driver is Caine Lobb. He is a focused young man who at eighteen years of age has the mature head of a veteran race driver.

The former Karting Champion’s outstanding list of accolades with seven major national championships under his belt, gained over a period of nine years of racing. Caines first national title in 2002 and the last in 2005 from junior restricted, junior and senior.

Caine has had a remarkable start to open wheel racing driving a Formula First (vee) turning heads at his first outing.

He broke the circuit record at the old Taupo circuit; the record had stood for eight years. At his first outing at Pukekohe he set a new lap record also.

Caines first outing in a Formula Ford at the 2006 Ford Festival netted him his first podium in that class. He went on to win his first meeting in the 2006-2007 National series at Ruapuna in Christchurch. Caine has won the 2006-2007 South Island Championship and the 2007 Winter series.

Caine Lobb could well be more than Whangarei’s most up and coming circuit driver but indeed one of New Zealand’s.

Race History

Caine Lobb believes in setting the right pace on track and in life. He is not rushing up the Motorsport ladder but instead choosing to set a pace where he will achieve the optimum learning curve and a stable foundation for a successful Motorsport career.

The 2006-2007 season started with Caine running both Formula First and Formula Fords, the experience really valuable for the development of driving skills.

Caine is looking forward to the 2007-2008 National Championship in his own car. The team has purchased the Van Diemen Stealth damaged at Taupo during the A1 GP the car will be upgraded and completely rebuilt. The program then moves onto Toyota and V8’s.

Motor Racing Achievements  

Formula Ford

  • Winner Ford Festival, 2007 Spring Carnival at Ruapuna raceway
  • Winner 2007 Winter Series.
  • Winner 2006-2007 South Island Championship.
  • Podium on first Formula Ford outing at the Ford festival.
  • Seventh place over all in National series, completing four of seven rounds.
  • Winner of the Ruapuna round of the National series, first outing in the series.
  • Special thanks to the Canterbury Motor Racing School and Motorsport Solutions.

Formula First

  • Seventh overall national series 2006-2007. contesting five of the eight rounds.
  • Fifth overall national series 2005-2006. Six podiums, five poles.
  • Winner winter series 2006.
  • Winner 1 hour enduro 2006.
  • Lap record old Taupo track still current.
  • Lap record Pukekohe still current.
  • 2006-2007 withdrew from National series after five rounds to concentrate on Ford holding fourth place.


  • Seven National Titles.


  • 2 nd CIK Trophy of NZ.
  • 2 nd National champs senior Yamaha light.
  • 1 st National schools champs senior Rotax Light.
  • 2 nd National schools champs senior Yamaha light.


  • 1 st Waikato champs junior Yamaha.
  • 1 st National schools champs senior Rotax light.
  • 1 st North island senior Yamaha light.


  • 1 st City of sails junior Yamaha.
  • 1 st JICA CIK Trophy of NZ.
  • 1 st National champs junior Yamaha.
  • 1 st National schools champs junior Yamaha.
  • 2 nd National schools champs JICA.


  • 1 st National champs junior restricted.
  • 1 st Inaugural schools champs junior restricted.
  • 1 st Hamilton anniversary junior restricted.
  • 1 st Hamilton points series junior restricted.
  • 1 st Tokoroa night glow junior restricted.
  • 2 nd Thunder down under junior restricted.
  • 2 nd Blossom festival junior restricted.
  • 2 nd National schools champs JICA.


  • 2 nd Blossom festival junior restricted.
  • 2 nd Hamilton anniversary junior restricted.
  • 1996 started racing club level in Whangarei driving a midget, Iron horse powered Kart. Started travelling during 2000.

Photo courtesy Iain Whitaker - Little Devil Entertainment

Formula Ford national series podium winning round at Ruapuna. Iain Whitaker.

Caine in Formula Ford Ruapuna. Iain Whitaker

Leading the Firsts at Pukekohe. Iain Whitaker

Leading the Formula Fords at Taupo. Iain Whitaker


Our thanks to all our sponsors including... Mark Cromie Holden | Hydraulink | Brian Craig Engineering | Tony Oliver Contracting
Classic Cover Insurance | Copthorne Hotel Taupo | PPG | Macbilt Engineering | Harvey Norman Photo Shop Porirua
Tony Gordon Performance Car Preparation | Shane Galpin Accountant | MTA

© Caine Lobb 2019 | Energise Web Design & Hosting | images courtesy of Little Devil Entertainment